On my way to being a published poet

November 8, 2009

I just signed the contract with Cedar Leaf Press for my first collection of poems. The Watcher (Poems) is due out this December, 2009, if all goes well. It contains 74 poems ranging in length, style, and topic, spanning over a decade of my writing. I’m so excited! I even got to use my graphic design skills to submit a cover design featuring my own photography.

I knew that I wanted to publish my writing one day, but I hadn’t expected that it would happen so soon. On a whim, I sent some sample work to the publisher and they liked my work so much they requested a manuscript. One thing led to another very quickly and now my book is on its way to publishing!

It’s a bit of a scary leap, putting your heart and soul out there. Especially with something so personal as poetry. I hope I find my tribe of sympathetic readers out there.

Leave a Reply

